Mario Movie: First Trailer Will Be Shown at New York Comic Con

The first trailer for the upcoming Super Mario movie, starring Chris Pratt in the title role, will be shown at New York Comic-Con next month. Announced on Twitter (below), the first teaser trailer for the film will premiere at the convention. It will be shown on October 6 at 1pm Pacific / 4pm Eastern / 9pm UK.

For those attending NYCC in person, the convention's official website notes that the trailer will be shown at the Empire Stage[1].

Join us October 6th at 4pm ET for the teaser trailer premiere of Nintendo & Illumination's upcoming Super Mario Bros. film, releasing April 7, 2023. pic.twitter.com/1jEFnlvCnU[2]

-- New York Comic Con (@NY_Comic_Con) September 22, 2022[3]

Originally announced back in 2018[4], Super Mario: The Movie is being produced by Nintendo and Illumination. The film would resurface again during the September 2021 Nintendo Direct[5], where Mario creator Shigeru Miyamoto announced the film's cast, which includes Chris Pratt as the titular character[6]. Others cast in the film include Charlie Day as Luigi, Anya Taylor-Joy as Princess Peach, and Jack Black as Bowser.

The film was originally set to release in December 2022. However, Universal Pictures announced earlier this year that the film's release date had been pushed back to April 7, 2023,[7] in North America. Mario Movie - The Cast So Far

Taylor is the Associate Tech Editor at IGN.

You can follow her on Twitter @TayNixster.[8]

References

  1. ^ will be shown at the Empire Stage (www.newyorkcomiccon.com)
  2. ^ pic.twitter.com/1jEFnlvCnU (t.co)
  3. ^ September 22, 2022 (twitter.com)
  4. ^ Originally announced back in 2018 (www.ign.com)
  5. ^ September 2021 Nintendo Direct (www.ign.com)
  6. ^ Chris Pratt as the titular character (www.ign.com)
  7. ^ pushed back to April 7, 2023, (www.ign.com)
  8. ^ @TayNixster (twitter.com)